RSS

Grilled Capsicum Beetroot Soup

14 Jul

Hoe randomly picked up an organic beetroot today and yes! I enjoy experimenting new ingredients. 🙂

While he was keeping his fingers busy on his mobile phone searching for a perfect way to manage the beetroot, I was keeping my eyes on the beetroot, thinking of a perfect soup to wash away the “sand-like” feeling on my tongue.

Right. I’m an arrogant chef. And today, I requested for some private time in the kitchen. Yup. All by myself.

I made a yummy mushroom overload burger and a thirst-quenching soup for dinner to separate our tongues from the roof of our mouths. Hey! Did I just say yummy? :p

Ingredients: Grilled red and yellow capsicum, beetroot, onion, garlic, carrot, tomatoes, salt, thyme, milk, cream.

Beetroot is rich in antioxidants and imparts the soup with a deep crimson red colour. Apart from the popular ABC (apple, beetroot, carrot) fruit juice, we found this vegetable great in soups as well!

Beetroot is refreshingly sweet with an earthy aftertaste. To our pleasant surprise, it went perfectly well with capsicum in complementing the sweetness in this vegetable soup. Hello beetroot! We will definitely make you a common ingredient in our future recipes!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 14, 2012 in Recipes, Vegetarian

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
